HomeAboutPeopleExploratory Committee

Exploratory Steering Committee

The concept of the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment was developed in 1998 and 1999 by the members of an Exploratory Steering Committee assembled at the invitation of World Resources Institute, United Nations Environment Programme, United Nations Development Programme, and the World Bank. The Exploratory Steering Committee ended its work when the formal MA Board was appointed in 2000.

  • Edward Ayensu, World Bank Independent Inspection Panel, Ghana
  • He Changchui,** Chief, Environmental Service, Sustainable Development, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  • Mark Collins, Chief Executive, UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre, United Kingdom
  • Angela Cropper, Trinidad and Tobago
  • Andrew Dearing, Program Manager, Information and Technology Program, World Business Council for Sustainable Development*
  • Louise Fresco, Director, Research Department, Sustainable Development, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  • Madhav Gadgil, Center for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Habiba Gitay, Research School of Biological Sciences, Australian National University, Australia
  • Gisbert Glaser, Assistant Director General, Environmental Programmes, UN Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • Zuzana Guziova, Ministry of the Environment, Slovak Republic
  • Calestous Juma, Visiting Fellow, Harvard University, USA
  • John Krebs, Natural Environment Research Council, United Kingdom*
  • Jonathan Lash, President, World Resources Institute, USA
  • Roberto Lenton, Director, Sustainable Energy and Environment Division, United Nations Development Programme*
  • Jane Lubchenco, Distinguished Professor, Oregon State University, USA
  • Jeffrey McNeely, Chief Scientist, World Conservation Union (IUCN), Switzerland
  • Harold Mooney, President, International Council for Science (ICSU)
  • Ndegwa Ndiang'ui, Scientific Officer, Secretariat of the Convention to Combat Desertification
  • Janos Pasztor, Coordinator, Information and Outreach Programme, Secretariat of the UNFCCC
  • Prabhu L. Pingali, Director, Economics Program, International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)
  • Per Pinstrup-Andersen, Director General, International Food Policy Research Institute, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research
  • Mario Ramos, Senior Environmental Specialist, Global Environment Facility
  • Peter Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden, USA
  • Walter Reid, Millennium Assessment Secretariat
  • Cristian Samper, Director General, Instituto Alexander Von Humboldt, Colombia
  • José Sarukhán, Rector, Universidad Nacional Autonomica, Mexico*
  • Peter Schei, International Negotiations Director, Directorate for Nature Management, Norway
  • Klaus Töpfer, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme
  • José Galízia Tundisi, President, International Institute of Ecology, Brazil
  • Robert Watson, Senior Scientific Advisor, World Bank
  • Xu Guanhua, Vice Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology, People's Republic of China
  • A.H. Zakri, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Malaysia*

*The affiliation or position held by the individual during tenure on the exploratory steering committee has since changed.

**He Changchui replaced Louise Fresco in mid-1999

© 2005 Millennium Ecosystem Assessment