Board Co-Chairs

  • A.H. Zakri, Director, Institute of Advanced Studies, United Nations University
  • Robert Watson, Chief Scientist and Senior Advisor ESSD, World Bank

Institutional Representatives

  • Salvatore Arico, Programme Officer, Division of Ecological Science, UNESCO
  • Peter Bridgewater, Secretary General, Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
  • Hama Arba Diallo, Executive Secretary, UNCCD
  • Adel El-Beltagy, Director General, International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas, CGIAR
  • C. Max Finlayson, Chair, Science and Technical Review Panel, Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
  • Colin Galbraith, Chair, Scientific Council, CMS
  • Erica Harms, Senior Program Officer for Biodiversity, United Nations Foundation
  • Robert Hepworth, Acting Executive Secretary, CMS
  • Olav Kjørven, Director, Sustainable Energy and Environment Division, UNDP
  • Kerstin Leitner, Assistant Director-General, Sustainable Development and Healthy Environments, WHO
  • Alfred Oteng-Yeboah, SBSTTA Chair (outgoing), CBD
  • Christian Prip, SBSTTA Chair (incoming), CBD
  • Mario Ramos, Biodiversity Program Manager, Global Environment Facility
  • Thomas Rosswall, Director, International Council for Science - ICSU
  • Achim Steiner, Director General, IUCN-World Conservation Union
  • Halldor Thorgeirsson, Coordinator, Methods, Inventories and Science Program, UNFCCC
  • Klaus Töpfer, Executive Director, UNEP
  • Jeff Tschirley, Chief, Environmental Service, Research, and Training Division, FAO
  • Riccardo Valentini, Chair, Committee on Science and Technology, UNCCD
  • Hamdallah Zedan, Executive Secretary, CBD

Members At-Large

  • Fernando Almeida, Executive President, Business Council for Sustainable Development, Brazil
  • Phoebe Barnard, Global Invasive Species Programme, National Botanical Institute, South Africa
  • Gordana Beltram, Undersecretary, Ministry of Environment and Spatial Planning, Slovenia
  • Delmar Blasco, Former Secretary General, Ramsar Convention on Wetlands, Spain
  • Antony Burgmans, Chairman, Unilever N.V., The Netherlands
  • Esther Camac, Asociación Ixä Ca Vaá de Desarrollo e Información Indigena, Costa Rica
  • Angela Cropper, President, The Cropper Foundation, Trinidad & Tobago
  • Partha Dasgupta, Professor, Faculty of Economics and Politics, University of Cambridge, UK
  • José María Figueres, Managing Director, Center for Global Agenda, World Economic Forum, Switzerland
  • Fred Fortier, Indigenous Peoples' Biodiversity Information Network, Canada
  • Mohammed Hassan, Executive Director, Third World Academy of Sciences, Italy
  • Jonathan Lash, President, World Resources Institute, USA
  • Wangari Maathai, Vice Minister for Environment, Kenya
  • Paul Maro, Professor, Department of Geography, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • Harold Mooney, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Stanford University, USA
  • Marina Motovilova, Professor, Faculty of Geography, M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia
  • M.K. Prasad, Environment Centre of the Kerala Sastra Sahitya Parishad, India
  • Walter V. Reid, Director, Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (ex officio), Malaysia and USA
  • Henry Schacht, Past Chairman of the Board, Lucent Technologies, USA
  • Peter Johan Schei, Director, Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Norway
  • Ismail Serageldin, President, Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Egypt
  • David Suzuki, Chair, David Suzuki Foundation, Canada
  • M.S. Swaminathan, Chairman MS Swaminathan Research Foundation, India
  • José Galízia Tundisi, President, International Institute of Ecology, Brazil
  • Axel Wenblad, Vice President Environmental Affairs, Skanska AB, Sweden
  • Xu Guanhua, Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology, China
  • Muhammad Yunus, Managing Director, Grameen Bank, Bangladesh

© 2005 Millennium Ecosystem Assessment